Aviv Quartet

Sergey Ostrovsky Violin 1

Philippe Villafranca Violin 2

NoƩmie Bialobroda Viola

Daniel Mitnitsky Cello

The winner of the Grand Prix and 4 special prizes at the 3rd Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition (1999, Australia), 1st Prize “Amadeus Prize” at Charles Hennen Competition (Holland 1999), Schubert Prize at Schubert Competition (2003, Graz, Austria), 2nd Prize (no 1st Prize awarded) and the International Critics Prize at Bordeaux String Quartet Competition (2003, France) , 2nd Prize at Prague Spring Competition (1998 Czech Republic).The Aviv Quartet has performed at leading venues throughout the world, including Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall (New York), Kennedy Center and The Library of Congress (Washington), Sydney Opera House, Cologne Philharmonie, Vienna Konzerthaus, Wigmore Hall and Royal Festival Hall (London), Louvre Auditorium,Theatre du Chatelet and Theatre de la Ville (Paris), Beethovenhaus (Bohn). As well, The Aviv Quartet performed in Brazil, China, Australia, Ireland, Netherlands, Italy, Sweden, Croatia, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, Canada, Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Belgium and Switzerland.In 1999-2003 The Aviv Quartet was awarded several government prizes, such as Israeli Ministry of Culture Prize (2001), German Ministry of Education Award (1999), Prize of Israeli Lottery Foundation – Mif’al ha Pais (2003)The Aviv Quartet studied with Gad Kogan, Irina Svetlova and Chaim Taub, than continued its studies with the members of the Alban Berg Quartet at Cologne Hochschule (1998-2000), and Daniel Quartet at Rotterdam Conservatory. During 2002-2003 they collaborated with the Ysaye Quartet at CNR de Paris.In addition, the Aviv Quartet participated in courses and master-classes with members of Amadeus Quartet, Emerson Quartet, Julliard Quartet, Isaac Stern, Walter Levin, Henry Mayer, Leon Fleisher, Joseph Kalichshtein, Wu Han, Ivry Gitlis, Arnold Steinhard and Paul Katz.Aviv, meaning ‘spring’ in Hebrew, a signifier of new beginnings and the season of birth and fresh thinking encompasses the Aviv Quartet’s artistic philosophy of stripping away artificial coverings “to reveal true nature, sharper definition and heightened awareness”.Its recordings for Naxos, including works by Franz Anton Hoffmeister, Erwin Schulhoff, Erno Dohnanyi and Franz Schubert have been highly acclaimed for their freshness of spirit vivacity and top class quality of string quartet performing.

Copyright 2021, Powered by Getspace